Since December  1st, 1999, the village of Cap-à-l'Aigle no longer exists because it merged with the new city of La Malbaie, just like other villages. However, the name is still used to designate the inhabited area of this former municipality. Initially, this municipality was founded in 1916, but was inhabited long before that date. This area of La Malbaie is located on the banks of the St. Lawrence River and provides outstanding viewpoints. This picturesque village welcomes, on average, several thousands of visitors who come enjoy the numerous ancestral bed & breakfasts and inns of the district. Some people also stop at the handicrafts kiosks to buy a wooden duck, while others take advantage of the marina and of the waves in the estuary.